Music ETDs


Jeremy Bakken

Publication Date



Salvation Triptych is a three movement composition for choir, winds, strings, and percussion. The texts include the traditional Kyrie and two Christian texts from the 4th-5th Centuries: The Word of the Cross by Paulinus of Nola (trans. Helen Waddell) and two stanzas from a hymn by Ambrose of Milan. Movement I: Kyrie involves the greatest musical forces (SATB choir, flute, oboe, bassoon, bass clarinet, violin I and II, viola, cello, bass, timpani, gong, chimes, and wood block). Due to the brevity of the text, the choir entries are relatively short and temporally separated, allowing this longest of the movements to unfold slowly and organically. Movement II: The Word of the Cross is for SSAATTBB a cappella and is sectional, corresponding tonally and structurally to the changing thoughts and emotions of the text. Movement III: Jesu labantes respice is the most intimate of the movements, for baritone soloist accompanied by alto flute, oboe, bass clarinet, cello, and bass. The lyric contrapuntal setting draws to a conclusion on a solitary fading pitch, reflecting resolution and patient expectation.

Degree Name


Level of Degree


Department Name

Department of Music

First Committee Member (Chair)

Hermann, Richard

Second Committee Member

Ellingboe, Bradley

Third Committee Member

Obermueller, Karola

Fourth Committee Member

Steinbach, Falko




salvation, triptych, kyrie, cross, jesu, labantes, respice, paulinus, ambrose, cantata

Document Type