The Navajo Nation is a non-IRA5 tribe and is not governed by a written constitution. The Navajo Nation government consists of a three-branch system. The nation has a six volume, twenty-four title6 code. Title II outlines the administration of tribal affairs, including the executive and legislative branches. Title VII outlines duties of the judiciary. The modern Navajo Nation government is best described as a western / traditional blend of governance.



To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.