Biology ETDs

Publication Date



Karyotypic studies were made of five species of mosquitoes: Culex tarsalis Coquillett, Culex pipiens quinquefasciatus Say, Culiseta incidens (Thomson), Psorophora signipennis (Coquillett), and Aedes dorsalis (Meigen). Slides of tissue from the limb buds were prepared by the squash technique. All five species were found to have a diploid number of six. The study shows that Aedes dorsalis, Psorophora signipennis, and Culiseta incidens have virtually identical mitotic karyotypes, with two pairs of large and one pair of somewhat smaller chromosomes. Culex tarsalis and Culex pipiens quinguefasciatus have karyotypes that contain three sizes of chromosomes. In Culex tarsalis there are obvious size differences, but in C. pipiens quinquefasciatus the two large pairs of chromosomes differ only slightly in length. No secondary constrictions were found, and banding appears inconsistent. Species separation on the basis of markings does not appear possible.



Document Type


Degree Name


Level of Degree


Department Name

UNM Biology Department

First Committee Member (Chair)

Clarence Clayton Hoff

Second Committee Member

William Jacob Koster

Third Committee Member

William Wayne Johnson

Included in

Biology Commons