Political Science ETDs

Publication Date



This thesis proposes to investigate the interrelated, but not identical, processes of deStalinization and desatellization. The former is used as a convenient, yet meaningful, label for a combination of phenomena, the essence of which is the relative relaxation of rigid controls imposed by a Communist regime over the domestic affairs of its country. Desatellization is an equally convenient, yet purposeful, phrase encompassing the process of relative relaxation of controls imposed by the Soviet Union in the early post war years over an East European nation. The two stem from basically the same causes but they are different variables in the political analysis of post Stalinist developments in the Soviet Union and East Europe.

While this thesis will devote the necessary attention to the historical background, its focus is on the period 1956 to 1964. During this period one notices, throughout Eastern Europe, certain basic similarities of trends and yet it is also important to understand the particular differences between these countries in their politics and attitudes toward decision making. Perhaps the most interesting example of this phenomena is in Poland and Romania. Thus it is on these two Communist Parties and states that the attention of this thesis will be focused. Poland and Romania have been chosen because they represent the best examples of contrasting domestic and foreign policy. As a result of the 1956 Polish Revolution the domestic controls imposed by the Polish United Worker's Party on society have been considered to be the most moderate in East Europe. Poland's foreign policy, however, is rigid and conservative. The Romanian Communist Party, on the other hand, has followed a very conservative and dogmatic domestic policy yet has, since the latter part of 1958, followed a relatively liberal and independent foreign policy. The focus point of this thesis is on the evolution of these separate, yet distinctly related, policies.

Degree Name

Political Science

Level of Degree


Department Name

Political Science

First Committee Member (Chair)


Second Committee Member


Third Committee Member

Harold V. Rhodes

Fourth Committee Member

Henry Jack Tobias



Document Type