Mechanical Engineering ETDs

Publication Date

Fall 12-17-2022


This dissertation proposes a cyber-secure distributed control of microgrids with improved communication and control protocols. The finite-time event-triggered control protocol for islanded AC and DC secondary control is introduced. For AC microgrids, the proposed strategy can effectively perform frequency restoration and voltage regulations while sharing the active and reactive power among the distributed generators (DGs) based on their power ratings. For DC microgrids, the proposed control protocol can provide accurate current sharing and critical bus voltage regulation. The finite-time control enables a system to reach a consensus in a finite period of time enhanced from asymptotic convergence. The event-triggered communication is utilized to reduce the communication burden among the DG controllers by transmitting data among DGs if an event-triggering condition is satisfied. For the microgrids with the secondary control operating in a distributed manner, the attack on one DG deteriorates not only that DG but also the other DGs that receive the corrupted information via the distributed communication network. To address the cybersecurity of such systems, Kullback-Leibler (KL) divergence-based and machine learning-based detection schemes against false data injection (FDI) attacks are proposed. A KL divergence-based strategy locates cyberattacks on a DG by comparing its probability distribution of measurement (e.g., frequency) with that of the rest of the DGs. A machine learning approach proposes a Gaussian Process (GP) regression and support vector machine (SVM) classification combined FDI attack detection strategy based on the anomaly detection algorithm. The proposed control protocols and the FDI attack detection methods are validated in MATLAB/Simulink simulation and hardware-in-the-loop (HIL) testbed using OPAL-RT and Raspberry Pis.


microgrids, hierarchical control, distributed control, event-triggered control, finite-time control, cyberattack detection

Degree Name

Mechanical Engineering

Level of Degree


Department Name

Mechanical Engineering

First Committee Member (Chair)

Ali Bidram

Second Committee Member

Gowtham Mohan

Third Committee Member

Ramiro Jordan

Fourth Committee Member

Reinaldo Tonkoski

Document Type




Available for download on Tuesday, December 17, 2024