Biology ETDs

Publication Date



The primary immune response can be specifically suppressed by the passive administration of the homologous antibody close to the time of the primary antigenic stimulus. Although the mechanism of this antibody-mediated suppression of the immune response has not yet been elucidated, it is known that both ϒM ( (19S) and ϒG (7S) antibodies can function as inhibitors, ϒG antibodies being approximately 100 to 200 times more effective than ϒM antibodies. In mice and in several other animals the ϒG antibody has been further separated into two subclasses, designated 7Sϒ1 and 7Sϒ2 globulins. These two classes are distinguished by their antigenic, biological, and electrophoretic differences. If mouse serum is subjected to zone electrophoresis, 7Sϒ2 antibody is se n to migrate in the slower gamma globulin region, whereas 7Sϒ1 antibody migrate in the faster gamma globulin region. Although there is much overlap and It is presently impossible to effect complete separation, different biological properties have been attributed to these antibodies. Mouse 7Sϒ1 globulin is responsible for passive cutaneous anaphylaxis in mice, and mouse 7Sϒ2 globulin is the complement fixing antibody and provokes passive cutaneous anaphylaxis in the guinea pig. The role of these two subclasses of ϒG antibodies in the specific suppression of the immune response in mice to sheep red blood cells was investigated using electrophoretically separated serum antibody fractions. Mouse serum and immune ascites fluid containing predominately 7S antibodies to sheep red blood cells were separated by starch block electrophoresis into "slow” and “fast'' 7S antibody fractions. These fractions were then tested for their ability to suppress antibody formation as measured by the agar plaque technique, a method for the detection and enumeration of single antibody-producing cells. It was found that the slow fraction, presumably containing primarily 7Sϒ2 antibodies, was significantly more effective than the fast fraction in suppressive activity.

Project Sponsors

Public Health Research Grant No. CA-10129 from the National Cancer Institute



Document Type


Degree Name


Level of Degree


Department Name

UNM Biology Department

First Committee Member (Chair)

John W. Beakley

Second Committee Member

Sei Tokuda

Third Committee Member

William Clarence Martin

Fourth Committee Member

William Wayne Johnson

Included in

Biology Commons