Political Science ETDs

Publication Date



Commissioner Corlett upon appointment in 1951 immediately undertook a program of streamlining the Bureau. About the same time, the New Mexico State Reorganization Committee, the so-called Little Hoover Commission, was established by the 1951 Legislature, and the staff of that committee undertook a simultaneous study of the Bureau. This thesis covers the New Mexico State Reorganization Committee staff study conducted by the author, during which study a number of recommendations were made for executive and legislative changes in the Bureau of Revenue, as well as the action taken during the ensuing period (to April, 1955), including the legislative actions in 1953 and 1955.

Degree Name

Political Science

Level of Degree


Department Name

Political Science

First Committee Member (Chair)

Howard Johnstone McMurray

Second Committee Member

Frederick Clarence Irion

Third Committee Member

Charles Burnet Judah



Document Type