Music ETDs

Publication Date

Winter 12-15-2016


This manuscript is a collection of musical compositions written by Christian Newman while a graduate student at the University of New Mexico. Each musical work fulfills at least one composition portfolio requirement as stated in the 2012 – 2013 Music Theory/Composition Student Handbook: the basic requirements include a piece with large orchestration, a piece featuring the voice, a piece featuring electronics, and a collaborativepiece. Newman’s composition portfolio includes numerous works in addition to the requirements that illustrate the depth and consistency of his progress as a composer while a student in the program.

The pieces included in this collection are Newman’s Prelude for Bass Trombone and Piano - “Kalki”, “A Piece on the Pianoforte”, “Every Drop” for Soprano and Mixed Ensemble, Prelude for Low Frequency Trio - “Eurynomos”, “Shadow Piece” in collaboration with Anna Mall, “Hot Summer Nights”- Electronic Instrumental Works for Mixed Ensemble, and “PRAEGRESSUS”- graphic notation scores and realization for wind symphony.

Degree Name


Level of Degree


Department Name

Department of Music

First Committee Member (Chair)

Peter Gilbert

Second Committee Member

Falko Steinbach

Third Committee Member

Karola Obermueller

Fourth Committee Member

Jose Luis Hurtado




Composition, Graphic Notation, Theory, Composition, Master's Thesis

Document Type


Included in

Music Commons