### University of New Mexico

### **UNM Digital Repository**

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes, 1920 - 2013

**Faculty Senate** 

4-30-1996

## Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes, 04/30/1996, p 417-419

**UNM Faculty Senate** 

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalrepository.unm.edu/fs\_minutes

#### **Recommended Citation**

UNM Faculty Senate. "Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes, 04/30/1996, p 417-419." (1996). https://digitalrepository.unm.edu/fs\_minutes/771

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Faculty Senate at UNM Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes, 1920 - 2013 by an authorized administrator of UNM Digital Repository. For more information, please contact amywinter@unm.edu, Isloane@salud.unm.edu, sarahrk@unm.edu.

# THE UNIVERSITY OF NEW MEXICO

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES 1995-96 Volume 20

**APRIL 30, 1996** 4:00 P.M KIVA

SENATORS WILL BE INFORMED ON THE PROCEDURES, PROCESS AND CRITERIA FOR ELECTING

SENATE OFFICERS **OPERATIONS COMMITTEE MEMBERS** 

IN PREPARATION FOR ELECTIONS AT THE MAY 7 FACULTY SENATE MEETING

VIVIAN VALENCIA UNIVERSITY SECRETARY SCHOLES 101

# FACULTY SENATE INFORMAL MEETING NOTES APRIL 30, 1996

The 1996-97 Faculty Senators met on April 30, 1996, at 4 p.m., in the Kiva for an informal, organizational meeting. Senate President Harry Llull presided.

Senators present: William Buss (Pharmacology), Laura Crossey (Earth & Planetary Sciences), Helen Damico (English), Victor Delclos (Individual Family and Community Education), Patrick Gallacher (English), Thomas Hagstrom (Mathematics & Statistics), Craig Kelsey (Physical Performance & Development), Peter Pabisch (Foreign Languages & Literatures), Jonathan Porter (History), Christine Sauer (Economics), Loretta Serna (Education Specialities), Joseph Spaeth (Radiology), Scott Taylor (Law), Pauline Turner (Individual Facily and Community Education), Holly Waldron (Psychology), Paul Weiss (General Library), Melvin Yazawa (History)

Senators absent: Margery Amdur (Art & Art History), Alok Bohara (Economics), James Boone (Anthropology), Judith Brillman (Emergency Medicine), William Dail (Anatomy), Tom DeCoster (Orthopaedics), Michelle Diel (Valencia), Ernest Dole (Pharmacy), Diane Dotts (Gallup), Gregory Franchini (Psychiatry), Karen Foss (Communication & Journalism), John Gahl (Electrical & Computer Engineering), Deborah Graham (Health Sciences Library), William Johnson (Biology), Christiane Joost-Gaugier (Art & Art History), Peggy Kelley (Surgery), Larry Lavender (Theatre & Dance), George Luger (Computer Science), Neeraj Magotra (Electrical & Computer Engineering), Christine Nathe (Dental Hygiene), Donald Neaman (Electrical & Computer Engineering), Elizabeth Nielsen (Education Specialities), Eric Nuttall (Chemical & Nuclear Engineering), Richard Reid (Anderson), Philip Reyes (Biochemistry), Mario Rivera (Public Administration), Gloria Sarto (Obstretics & Gynecology), Sandra Schwanberg (Nursing), Avarham Shama (Anderson), Russell Snyder (Neurology), Kim Sorvig (Architecture & Planning), Nicole Touchet (Family & Community Medicine), Carolyn Voss (Medicine), Gerald Weiss (Physiology), Sherman Wilcox (Linguistics), Beulah Woodfin (Biochemistry), Nancy Ziegler (Gallup)

Excused: Steven Block (Music), Jane Bruker (Gallup), John Geissman (Earth & Planetary Sciences), Jaime Grinberg (Education),

Senate President Llull informed Senators on the procedures, process and criteria for electing Senate Officers and Operations Committee members in preparation for elections at the May 7, 1996, Faculty Senate meeting.

Discussion was held on committee appointments and Senate representatives on standing committees. Committee preference sheets were distributed to Senators at this meeting. President Llull asked Senators to indicate their first, second, and third choices for service on committees still lacking senate representation. Completed preference sheets should be returned to the Office of the University Secretary as soon as possible.

The meeting ended at 5 p.m.

Respectfully submitted by:

Mari A. Ulibarri

Administrative Assistant

Approved by:

Vivian Valencia

University Secretary