

HLC Accreditation **Evidence Document**

Title: The School of Medicine Curriculum Committee

Office of Origin: Health and Sciences Center

Description: Information on the School of Medicine Curriculum Committee, as it appears in the HSC webspace.

Date: 2018





School of Medicine: Office of Education



Vision

Curriculum Committee

The School of Medicine Curriculum Committee is a committee of actively and passionately

engaged members who apply evidence based educational strategies to ensure a learning centered curriculum that supports and inspires student success. Committee Purpose and Function

The School of Medicine Curriculum Committee is an LCME-mandated standing committee of the faculty and includes faculty, student and resident representation. The function of the

curriculum committee is to oversee the education program as a whole and has the responsibility for the overall design, management, integration, evaluation and enhancement of a coherent and coordinated curriculum. Through its work, the curriculum committee determines educational policy and curricular structure, promotes educational innovations and scholarship, and establishes implementation strategies for the four-year School of Medicine educational program leading to the Doctor of Medicine degree. The curriculum committee has 2 standing subcommittees, the Phase I Block Chairs committee and the Phase II Clerkship Directors committee that oversee the day-to-day operations of their respective curricular phases, bring proposals forward to the curriculum committee and implement recommended changes from the curriculum committee. Roles and Responsibilities

and practice and is consistent with meeting LCME standards.

 Review and modify the goals and objectives for the curriculum with particular emphasis on ensuring that the goals and objectives are linked to desired outcome

Develop, maintain and evaluate a curriculum that reflects current medical knowledge

- Establish a logical sequencing of the curriculum and curriculum content that is coordinated and integrated within and across the academic periods of study (i.e., horizontal and vertical integration).
- meeting the goals and objectives for medical student education. • Ensure that the methods of pedagogy and medical student assessment are effective,
- Monitor the content and student workload in each Phase of the curriculum. Promote educational innovation, experimentation and scholarship to inform the development and maintenance of a dynamic and current curriculum.

Curriculum Committee Membership

The curriculum committee is an integrated body with rotating membership that includes

Dean. Members are appointed for three-year terms and may be reappointed for successive terms.

Chair: Deborah Dellmore, MD - Department of Psychiatry Vice Chair: Jonathan Eldredge, PhD - Health Sciences Center Library and Informatics Center

representation across the institution, in order to achieve the school's overall educational objectives. All members are nominated or elected by their peers and appointed by the

Anthony Fleg, MD - Department of Family and Community Medicine Erin Milligan, PhD - Neurosciences

Representatives from Phase II Clerkship Directors

Representatives from Phase I Block Chairs

Leonard Noronha, MD - Department of Internal Medicine

Veena Singh, MD/Von Samedi, MD, PhD - Department of Pathology

Representatives from Phase III Clerkship Directors

Jennifer Benson, MD - Department of Internal Medicine

- Ann Morrison, MD Department of Internal Medicine
- Representative from Clinical Reasoning

Jim McKinnell, MD - Department of Pediatrics

Kathy Johnson, PA - Physician Assistant Program

Students from Phase III Hallie Brown Michelle Sandoval

Megan McClean Moorhead

Students from Phase II

Natalie Johannes

Students from Phase I, Year 2

 Dane Abruzzo Ricardo Galicia

• Alternate: Ballie Bronner

Students from Phase I, Year 1 Paul Ratmeyer

• Maria-Eleni Roumelioti, MD - Internal Medicine

- Elaine Bearer, MD, PhD Pathology • Janet Veesart, MD - Department of Emergency Medicine
- Henry Lin Department of Internal Medicine GI/ Larry Davis, MD Neurology Representative from HSLIC

Ex-Officio Members*:

- Resident Physicians
 - Representing Program Evaluation (PEAR) Summers Kalishman, PhD / Rebecca Hartley, PhD / Nancy Shane, PhD • Director of Office of Medical Educator Development (OMED) - Gary Smith, PhD

• Director of Curriculum Support Center (CSC) - Paul Perea

Jon Eldredge - Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center

Representing Assessment and Learning (A&L) - Ed Fancovic, MD

 Director of Office of Academic Resources and Support (OARS) - Pam DeVoe, PhD Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education (UME) - Paul McGuire, PhD

Associate Dean for Diversity or Office for Diversity Representative - Valerie Romero-

- Leggott, MD
- Educator, Lecturer, Instructor, and Research contract faculty members with half-time or greater appointments) will be eligible to vote on Curriculum Committee matters.

formal motions, and voting. Based on the SOM by-laws, Ex Officio members of this committee who are considered SOM Voting Faculty (Tenured, Tenure-Track, Clinician

UNM Health Sciences Center

measures.

- Monitor and evaluate the quality of the blocks and clerkships and their effectiveness in
 - innovative and appropriate for the achievement of the program's educational objectives.
- Principles & Policies Members Schedules & Minutes SOP's
- members of the faculty, administration and student body in proportions appropriate to assure wide understanding of the issues at hand, flexibility, a lack of bias, and full

Voting Members:

Mary Lacy, MD - Department of Internal Medicine

 Joanna Fair, MD - Department of Radiology Felisha Rohan-Minjares, MD - Family Medicine

Representatives from Doctoring Curriculum

Representative from Learning Communities

 Justin Roesch, MD/Patrick Rendon, MD - Department of Internal Medicine Representative from PA Program

Representative from Phase I Threads Karen Santa Cruz, MD - Department of Pathology

Alternates: Julia Dexter / Eric Rightly

Hannah Wilcox

Arden Vanderwall

Student from MD-PhD program

- Faculty At-Large
- Bradley Pickett, MD Surgery Sarah Morley, PhD - HSLIC Faculty Representative from VAMC
 - Brittney Coffman, MD • Daphne Olson, MD
 - Assistant Dean Medical Science Education Marcy Osgood, PhD Representing Student Affairs - Sheila Hickey, MD / Teresa Vigil, MD Assistant Dean for Health Professions Programs - Shelly McLaughlin, MS
- * Frequently, ex officio members will abstain from voting, but unless by-laws constrain their rights, they are afforded the same rights as other members, including debate, making
- Find a location

Q Find a program

Apply now

© The University of New Mexico

Albuquerque, NM 87131, (505) 277-0111 New Mexico's Flagship University



UNM HSC Social Media

more at social.unm.edu Accessibility | Legal | Contact | For Employees | Jobs | Diversity | UNM Health

