Tribal Law Journal

Volume 22 Article 1

6-1-2023

Front Matter

Tribal Law Journal University of New Mexico - School of Law

Follow this and additional works at: https://digitalrepository.unm.edu/tlj



Part of the Indigenous, Indian, and Aboriginal Law Commons

Recommended Citation

Law Journal, Tribal. "Front Matter." Tribal Law Journal 22, (2023). https://digitalrepository.unm.edu/tlj/ vol22/iss/1

This Front Matter is brought to you for free and open access by the Law Journals at UNM Digital Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in Tribal Law Journal by an authorized editor of UNM Digital Repository. For more information, please contact disc@unm.edu.



The *Tribal Law Journal* (TLJ) is honored to dedicate Volume 22 to **John Echohawk** (**Pawnee**). Echohawk was the first graduate of the University of New Mexico's special program to train Indian lawyers and was a founding member of the American Indian Law Students Association while in law school. John Echohawk has been with the Native American Rights Fund since its inception in 1970, serving as Executive Director since 1977. The National Law Journal has recognized him as one of the 100 most influential lawyers. He has received numerous service awards and other recognition, including the 2023 Thurgood Marshall Award and the 2020 National Native American Law Students Association Lifetime Service Award, for his leadership in Indian law. Echohawk's dedication to preserving Tribal existence, protecting Tribal natural resources, promoting Native American human rights, holding governments accountable to Native Americans, and developing Indian law has made him the perfect choice for our dedication.

bあVVが "We are still here."

Each of the following Articles demonstrates the marriage of traditional law and the modern-day legal framework of Federal Indian Law. Traditional law is not static. It is alive and changes to suit the needs of its community without forgetting its beginning. It is with this reverence that the Tribal Law Journal publishes Volume 22.

Professional Articles

Tomasz G. Smolinski, A Proposal for a Model Indigenous Intellectual Property Protection Tribal Code (MIIPPTC), 22 TRIBAL L.J. 3 (2023).

Dustin Jansen, *The Role of* United States v. Cooley *and* McGirt v. Oklahoma *in Determining Criminal Jurisdiction in Indian Country*, 22 TRIBAL L.J. 30 (2023).

Wesley James Furlong, "Subsistence is Cultural Survival": Examining the Cultural and Legal Framework for the Recognition and Protection of Traditional Cultural Landscapes within the National Historic Preservation Act, 22 Tribal L.J. 51 (2023).

Student Articles

Noah Allaire, Experiments in Legal Hybridity: From Indian Tort Law to Tribal Tort Law, 121 TRIBAL L.J. 122(2023).

Alejandro Alvarado, Tribes And H-1Bs: A Call to Reconcile U.S. Immigration Policy and Tribal Governments

Through Employment-Based Visas, 141 TRIBAL L.J. 151 (2023).

Micah S. McNeil, Traditional Tlingit Law and Governance and Contemporary Sealaska Corporate Governance: Four Core Values and a Jurisprudence of Transformation, 22 TRIBAL L.J. 168 (2023).

"Let Our Voices Be Heard, Let Our Stories Be Told."

EDITORIAL BOARD 2022-2023

Alma Buena (Otomi), Citations Editor

Brittany Dutton-Leyda, Professional Articles Editor

William P. Dunn, Student Articles Editor

Erin Fitz-Gerald, Blog Editor

Victoria Lovato, Blog Editor

Alicianna Martinez (Ohkay Owingeh), Web &

Social Media Editor

Barbara Ryan (Chickasaw Nation), Editor-in-Chief

Hannah Tompkins, Citations Editor

Christian White (Kewa/Diné), Managing Editor

JOURNAL STAFF 2022-2023

Alejandro Alvarado

Shaniya Decker (Salish/Nakoda/Turtle Mountain

Chippewa)

Valerie DiBernardo

Lauren Earls (Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa

Indians)

Ricardo Guadarrama

Justin Lauriano (Sandia Pueblo)

Danielle Montgomery (Muscogee (Creek) Nation)

Mikayla Ortega-Speight

Hannah Stephens

FACULTY ADVISORS 2022-2023

Professor Vanessa Racehorse (Shoshone-Bannock Tribes/Cherokee Nation/Shoshone-Paiute Tribes)

Professor Austin Megli (Choctaw Nation)

EDITORIAL BOARD 2021-2022

Bree Barnett, Blog Editor

Taylor Bingham, Managing Editor

Brittney Poirier, Citations Editor

Callie Tompkins, Staff Editor

Robert Waldroup (CWY), Editor-in-Chief

JOURNAL STAFF 2021-2022

Nina A. Chester (Diné)

Claire Cooley

Val Day-Sánchez

William P. Dunn

Brittany Dutton-Leyda

Erin Fitz-Gerald

Alicianna Martinez (Ohkay Owingeh)

Barbara Ryan (Chickasaw Nation)

Hannah Tompkins

Christian White (Kewa/Diné)